All licensees who are issued any class/type of retail alcoholic beverage license in Harford County must be trained through a state approved alcohol awareness training program. Maryland law requires that the licensee or an employee who is in a supervisory capacity, must successfully complete alcohol awareness training and that an alcohol awareness trained employee or the licensee, must be present during hours in which alcohol is sold.
Maryland State approved programs are valid for a period of 4 years, at which time retraining must be completed. This training is to provide education on the dangers of drinking and driving, and provides instruction on the effects of alcohol on the human body and behavior.
Persons violating this law are subject to $100 fine for the first offense and a $500 fine and/or suspension or revocation of their alcohol beverage license for any subsequent offenses. Certificates of completion shall be presented to the proper authorities upon request.
If you have any questions about alcohol awareness programs, or requirements for licensees in Harford County, please contact us by phone, fax or email. Further training program information can be obtained in our download section under Approved Alcohol Awareness Training Programs or you can contact the State of Maryland at: