Emergency Shelter Grant (ESG)

Application Availability Announced Annually Through Harford Roundtable Participation
The Emergency Shelter Grant (ESG) program is designed to be the first step in a continuum of assistance to prevent homelessness and enable homeless individuals and families to move towards independent living.

ESG is a homeless assistance program funded by the Department of Housing and Urban Development's (HUD) Office of Special Needs Assistance Programs that flows through the State of Maryland into Harford County. In Harford County, ESG funds are used to help fund programs already in existence, working with homeless persons, and those at-risk of homelessness.

Funding Requirements
Harford County requests application proposals from eligible non-profits 501 (c)(3) that currently work with homeless clients, or homelessness prevention activities.
  • Eligible applicants must be involved in the Harford Roundtable, the county's Continuum of Care outlined in the county's Consolidated Plan (PDF) to HUD.
  • For additional information call Housing & Community Development at 410-638-3045.
Contact information on these programs can be found in the Harford County Resource Guide.

The ESG Program allocates funds to eligible jurisdictions for:
  • Essential services
  • Homeless prevention activities
  • Rehabilitation or conversion of buildings into homeless shelters
  • Shelter and transitional housing operating expenses
Application Process:
Under the Emergency Shelter Grant (ESG) Program, the Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD) receives federal funding through the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) to support homeless shelters and homeless services programs in 19 counties, (Harford County is one of the counties funded through DHCD).
DHCD awards ESG funds annually under a competitive application process.
  • Applicants eligible to submit to DHCD are restricted solely to units of local government.
  • The local government may distribute all or part of its grant award to eligible nonprofit recipients designated in the local government's ESG application.