Obtaining a License to Sell Alcohol

It is the policy of the State of Maryland that it is necessary to regulate and control the storage, sale and distribution of alcohol beverages. Maryland State Law, as written in Article 2B of the Annotated Code of Maryland, empowers local boards of license commissioners, and inspectors to administer and enforce the provisions of these alcohol laws. The restrictions, regulations, provisions, and penalties contained in these laws are for the protection, health, welfare and safety of the people of Harford County and this State.

These laws and regulations which are encompassed in Article 2B are carried out in Harford County by the Harford County Liquor Control Board. All alcoholic beverages that are sold in the State of Maryland, including Harford County, must be sold by person(s) who have an alcohol beverage license. There are numerous types of alcohol beverage licenses, ranging from one day to seven days a week. There are qualifications and regulations for anyone desiring to obtain these licenses to sell alcohol.

To obtain an application for the sale of alcohol in Harford County, you can contact the Harford County Liquor Control Board. It is a requirement that all applications must be completed and submitted on original forms, therefore, all applications must either be picked up at our office which is located at 16 North Main Street in Bel Air, Maryland, 21014, or a request must be made for an application packet be sent. The application process takes an average of 5-7 weeks to complete.

Residency
One of the most important items of the application process is that at least 1 person must have been a resident of Harford County for 1 year prior to application, and that person must remain on the license and be an active participant in the business. As of July 1, 2014 new legislation was past which modified the resident licensee requirement for specific classes of licenses, please contact the board office for further information.