Property Tax Assessment Appeal Board


  • Once a month, as needed
  • District Court Building
    4th Floor
    Bel Air, MD 21014

Agendas & minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View most recent agendas and minutes


  • Mary Lou Olszewski
    Term expires: May 2025
  • Schniqua L. Roberts
    Term expires: May 2025
  • Diane L. Sengstacke
    Term expires: May 2025



Article 81, Section 3-103 of the Annotated Code of the State of Maryland, mandates this board.


Membership includes three regular members and one alternate member appointed by the governor of Maryland.

The county executive submits three names for each vacancy to the county council for confirmation. After confirmation of the council, names for the vacancy will be submitted to the governor for appointment to the Property Tax Assessment Appeal Board.

Members are appointed for five-year terms. The governor will appoint a chair for the board.


The Appeal Board hears appeals concerning:

  • Credits for elderly and disabled renters
  • Credits for homeowners
  • Credits for real property leases to a religious group
  • Personal property valued by the supervisors
  • Real property values and assessments
  • The rejection of an application for a property tax exemption
  • The value of easements under the Agriculture Article