Department of Social Services Advisory Board


  • Natalie Dennison
    Term expires: June 30, 2019
  • Bonita C. Holland-Buchanan 
    Term expires: June 30, 2020
  • Marlene Lieb
    Term expires: June 30, 2020
  • Andree M. Mountain                               Term expires: June 30, 2020
  • Sarah Ortiz-Brown
    Term expires: June 30, 2022
  • Lillie Mae Ragins-Walker
    Term expires: June 30, 2020

  • Robin R. Stokes-Smith                           Term expires: June 30, 2021
  • Patricia M. Weaver
    Term expires: June 30, 2021
  • Tony E. Wohlers
    Term expires: June 30, 2021
Ex-officio member
  • Patrick S. Vincenti
    County Council District E

About the board

This board is mandated by Article 88A, Section 14 of the Annotated Code of the State of Maryland. The Social Services Advisory Board shall be composed of a least nine but no more than 13 members. The board will annually select its own chairperson. Board members serve three-year terms and upon expiration of two consecutive three-terms, the appointee will be ineligible for one year thereafter for reappointment. Members are appointed by the county executive upon recommendation of the Social Services Advisory Board and confirmed by the county council.

For more information, please call Erica Rutka at 410-836-4743.


One member of the board will be a member of the local governing authority of the county and will serve as an ex-officio member on the board. Members should possess a high degree of interest, capacity, and objectivity, and who in the aggregate give a countywide representative character to the local board.


A summary of their duties include:

  • To select a director for the Department of Social Services
  • To advise the director and the state director as to the local application of state policies or procedures
  • To be well-informed on local department activities
  • To communicate to residents of the county information as to the objectives, policies, programs, and problems of social services and public assistance administration