
Board inspectors have completed five underage alcohol 
compliance tests this year, visiting 160 licensees, with a passing
rate of 76%...down from over 90%, in 2013.
EXPECT to be tested at least once in the coming year.
 Passing the compliance test is the minimum standard for 

checking identification 
 No Excuse for Failure - training for employees is available 

from numerous sources, including the free training offered 
twice each month by the Board. 

 Don’t face penalties and possible license suspension due to 
a compliance test violation. 

 Train your employees and reinforce the importance of 
checking identification.

Deadline for Changes to Current Licenses

January 16, 2015, is the last day to submit new or supplemental 
applications before the start of the license renewal period. 

 Applications submitted after January 16th will not be acted 
on until after May 1, 2015. 

 If you are planning to replace a licensee or apply for a new 
license, submit your application as soon as possible.

 Failure to submit a timely application will not prevent a 
licensee from being found in violation.

License Renewal Schedule

License renewal applications will be mailed to all licensees 
during the week of January 26th.  Renewal applications received
after March 16, 2015, will be considered late and incur a $200 
processing fee.  Be sure the Board has your correct address.
 Make sure your worker’s compensation is current and both 

State and County taxes have been paid to accelerate the 
renewal process.

 The full schedule for the renewal process is available on the 
Liquor Board website.

Many licensees have added a 
billiard/pool table or juke box for 
entertainment on their licensed 
premises. Commercial billiard 
tables & juke boxes MUST BE 

LICENSED by the State/County.

Billiard/Pool Tables:

 State license required for each 
table.

 Available from the Clerk of the
Circuit Court and cost $10 
annually per table. 

 Penalty for not obtaining a 
license is $500 for each billiard
table kept without a license. 

 Relevant laws may be found in 
the Business Regulation Article
of the Maryland Code, Title 17,
§§ 501 – 505. 

Juke/Music Box:

 Licenses required from both 
State and Harford County.

 Available from the Clerk of the
Circuit Court and cost $10 
annually for each license; state 
and county.

 Must be displayed on the 
premises where the juke/music 
box is located.

 The penalty is $100 for each 
unlicensed juke/music box.

 Relevant laws may be found in 
the Business Regulation Article
of the Maryland Code, Title 17,
§§ 1301 – 1309 and 1312 – 
1318. 

The Liquor Board office will be closed
on Thursday, December 25th and 

Friday December 26th for Christmas
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